Mar 4, 2021

Maritzburg College’s Leadership 2021

Maritzburg College announced its leadership for 2021; Pictured with the headmaster Mr Chris Luman, Mr Anthony Sparrow and Mr Nigel Sutherland are Thomas Conolly (Deputy Head Prefect), Mark Laithwaite (Deputy Head Prefect), James Beauclerk (Head Prefect), Haydn Kemp (Deputy Head Prefect), and Callum Lee (Deputy Head Prefect).

Today we held the ninth annual Passing of the Drum Ceremony on our campus, a formality first introduced in 2012, to celebrate the appointment of the school’s pupil leadership for the next year. These include our head and deputy head prefects, prefects, shouting captains, and house leaders.

To be appointed as a College Prefect is one of the highest honours that the school can bestow upon a pupil, and along with the honour, comes accountability and responsibility. These boys have endured a rigorous process to achieve this honour and they would not have been appointed without the wider College’s pupil and staff support. College appoints five senior prefects to lead this team; and we extend our sincere congratulations to our Head Prefect for 2021, James Beauclerk and our Deputy Head Prefects; Thomas Conolly, Haydn Kemp, Mark Laithwaite and Callum Lee.

Today we also announced the three shouting captains for 2021 –Azile Dlamini, Luc Verbeist and Makabongwe Ncgobo. These young men have a unique role at a school like Maritzburg College, with its emphasis on spirit and camaraderie. Voted for by their peers, each year it is the job of our Shouting Captains to inspire and cajole the troops on Basher Ridge, on Pape’s and elsewhere, to get behind our College men.

We also named our house leaders, house captains and vice captains for the 10 day houses – our “homes within a home” at College. These young men are given various portfolios and assist the housemaster and staff in running the houses on a daily basis.

The five Border prefects who lead each of the boarding houses at College provide support to the boarder masters and boarder staff necessary for what is the largest Public School boarding establishment in the country, with its own particular culture and traditions. It is their job to ensure a happy, efficient and disciplined home for our 500 boarders. Today, we congratulate Asiphile Zungu (Head of Nathan House), Callum Lee (Head of Clark House), Haydn Kemp (Head of Hudson House), Thomas Conolly (Head of Shepstone House) and Ndumiso Zondi (Head of Elliott House).

A very special part of this assembly at College is the passing of the bass drum from our outgoing Head Prefect to the new incumbent, symbolising the passing of authority between these two boys. For many years it is the tradition that an outgoing College head prefect places a written message of support to his successor in the old drum. While this long-established tradition continues, the original old Thrash Drum that was used is now housed in a permanent case on display in the Victoria Hall, and a side-drum from the old school cadet band is used, to symbolise the passing of authority from the prefects of 2020 to the prefects of 2021. At the 2020 ceremony outgoing head prefect, Chris van Heerden placed his personal message of support to the head prefect for 2021 in the old drum, and handed the custodianship of the drum to James Beauclerk, as a symbol of the passing of his authority.

Head Prefect: James Beauclerk
Deputy Head Prefects: Thomas Conolly, Haydn Kemp, Mark Laithwaite and Callum Lee

PREFECTS: Connor Baldrey, Lwazi Biyela, Daniel Botha, Ethan Coulthard, Azile Dlamini, Mpendulo Dube, Grayden Emberton, Caleb Hibbert, Owen Higgins, Khanyisa Hlengwa, Luando Magwaza, Uyanda Maphumulo, Ayakha Mthalane, Lusanda Mtshali, Callum Osborne, Willian Pretorius, Roydon Swift, Wela-Aphumele Takata, Corbin Thunder, Camryn Trodd, William Trodd, Liam Tyler, Jacques van der Merwe, Connor Versfeld, Christian Wiliamson, Ntando Zikalala, Asiphile Zungu.

Boarder Prefects: Jaydon Cocks, Tinyiko Nkosi, Matthew Woodhead
Head of Nathan House: Asiphile Zungu
Head of Shepstone House: Thomas Conolly
Head of Clark House: Callum Lee
Head of Hudson House and Senior Boarder Prefect: Haydn Kemp
Head of Elliott House: Ndumiso Zondi.
Shouting Captains: Azile Dlamini, Luc Verbiest and Makabongwe Ncgobo


Barns Calder Commons Forder Fuller 
Connor Baldrey Corbin Thunder Haydn Kemp Josh Haasbroek Thomas Conolly 
Lwazi Biyela Roydon Swift Lusanda Mtshali Quintin Pitout Ntando Zikalala 
Morgan Pearson Keshlyn Govender Benedict Nuttall Nicholas McFarland Jayden Cocks 
Benjamin Tarr Daniel Jonker Steven Pretorius Matthew Palmer Luc Verbiest 
Seth Goebel Joshua Moller Ryan Dobeyn Raii Naidoo Andile Mbambo 
Simiso Khuzwayo Luyanda Gasa Yurav Bandu Murray Whyte Ntuthuko Smith 
Keagan Hope-Johnstone Wandile Shange Junaid Shaik Mahomed Bolan Kilburn Matthew Woodhead 
Lamond Nicholson Pape Snow Strachan 
Owen Higgins Callum Lee Uyanda Maphumulo Asiphile Zungu Ayakha Mthalane 
Willian Pretorius Jacques v d Merwe Wela Aphumele Takata William Trodd Luando Mgwaza 
Brenden Els Ross Crookes Andre Dippenaar Caleb Schultz Ndumiso Zondi 
Joshua Squires Brayden Raw Nicholas Cook Matthew Spooner Dian Jacobs 
Joshua Walden Darren Ferrar Oliver Field Carrick McKean Oliver Higgins 
Tinyiko Nkosi Lethu Mcoyi Kaedin Naidoo Bhavin Hulloowaan Stefan du Plessis 
Thandolwethu Zondi Owethu Cele Josh Wilson Tyler Guise-Brown Bernard Sims Handcock